Theo-what?

Hello friends and friends-to-be. The purpose of this blog is to convey thoughts and inspirations about our purpose: to image God. It was through our middle school pastor at church that God really drove this point to home to me.

God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.

Genesis 1:27 (NASB)

We are each a self-portrait of God Himself.

Of course, we are not so God-like as we would like to imagine. Who’s image are you concerned about? God’s or yours? Having fallen from grace, God’s image is virtually unrecognizable. But God through His Son, Jesus Christ, restores His image in us. Only then can we know and fulfill our purpose in life. Hopefully you will join me in a bit of a journey for a while so that we can learn together how to take our eyes off ourselves and put our eyes on Christ.

During our last (home)school year, I would set things up each evening for the next school day. In a bid to get the kids started on the right track I give them a tidbit to point them to Christ. It was one of those evenings when I came up with that tagline: “You are a picture of God. Make it a good one.” Thus the moniker: theozografika. Painting God. What kind of picture are you painting?

Marc with some of his boys on a hike in the mountains of NC
Marc with some of his boys on a hike in the mountains of NC

These posts will be aimed at being like God; reflecting His character. Next up (I think!) — Redeeming Evil.

One thought on “Theo-what?

  1. Angelia Ulrich

    I tried to be the first to like this, but it required I start my own blog. I’ve wanted to have a blog for years but just don’t have the time 🙂 So proud of you, Marc. What a great idea w/which to challenge others. I’m working on an online study right now called How to Be Selfless in a Selfie World. It’s a good follow-up to my almost 2 yr & continuing study of the Sermon on the Mount. May God continue to bless you.

    Like

Leave a comment